Submissions and Rejections Blog

Submissions: Bridge Eight and Atlas & Alice

Websites

http://www.bridgeeight.com/ and https://atlasandalice.com/

Of all the short stories I’ve written for my MA, the one I’m most happy with is The Blue Rose, the story of a writer and his muse, and the often torturous power of the imagination. Inspired by (amongst others things) Ruby Sparks and Howl’s Moving Castle, it’s a story that slots into a number of genres – I wrote it as a magical realist piece, but when I workshopped the story, I got back responses of metafiction, supernatural, fantasy, and literary.

I was fortunate to find two literary magazines with current submission themes suited to my story. (I’ve found so many magazines asking for themes that I’d never dream of writing, it gets disheartening after a while).

I should have an answer regarding my submissions by mid-July, so keep an eye out for a accepted/rejected post around that time.

Leave a Reply

